A Chair for Elton

February 23, 2011 at 4:54 am 6 comments

Dumpster chair getting a coat of spray paintThis is the before and after of the chair I saved from the dumpster.  It wasn’t a true ‘dumpster dive’ since, technically, the abandoned chair was sitting next to the dumpster.  But, it was a classic salvage and refinish project.  I could not make up my mind on which direction to take this.  I toyed with keeping the original seat color (mauve) which was in good condition.  I pulled out all my seat fabrics and kept putting together likely pairs like similar color schemes (pink to mauve and avocado to olive) which were just ho-hum.  I have a ton of red velvet so I contemplated going with a red seat and a white chair, like the Queen’s throne in Alice in Wonderland.  But, then I stumbled across this crazy tiger print canvas fabric in orange and hot pink.  I’ve never put it to use, but I have yards of it.  Since I only have the single chair, I thought it could really be loud and be a stand-alone accent piece for someone REALLY daring or maybe for a funky hair salon type atmosphere.  Anyway, the refinishing was short and sweet.  Here’s the quick breakdown:

  1. BEFORE

    Removed broken pieces

  2. Tightened and reglued connections
  3. Reinforced weak leg and arm joints
  4. Applied sandable wood filler on ding-ed areas
  5. Lightly sanded
  6. 1 can gray acrylic spray primer
  7. 1 can Krylon Bauhaus Orange acrylic spray
  8. Power staple gunned new fabric on seat
chair refinishing project

AFTER!

So glad I took the time to put on a new seat fabric.  I HIGHLY recommend investing in a power staple gun if you plan to refinish.  It is so much more pleasurable to work with than the manual gun.  I regret using a grey primer as a base.  The white primer was more expensive, but would have given me a crisper orange color.  The Krylon Bauhaus Orange is lovely, but pretty sheer.  OK, hope you like it as much as I!  It will go into my new booth space 37A at Antiques & Things 4710 Central Ave.  Oh, my Chinese Vanity sold for full price from the consignment shop–whohoo!

Entry filed under: Before & After, How To..., Sean's Projects. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

New Adoption! Get A Handle On Things

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. haru  |  February 23, 2011 at 5:16 am

    I’m speechless. This is a beautiful chair. I love your choice of paint color & upholstery fabric. I’m happy that you rescued this chair and gave it a new life. ♡

    Reply
  • 2. Donna Anderson  |  February 23, 2011 at 5:43 am

    Full price on the Chinese Vanity. Yea for you. The chair is fabulous. I love it!!! Yummy.

    Reply
  • 3. cindy mandernach  |  March 1, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    i actually like the muted color of the orange on the chair….it looks more vintage that way…..

    great find. lucky dog!!! 😀

    hugs, cindy

    Reply
  • 4. gadgetronica  |  March 1, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    Thanks, Cindy! You are right, it did take it to a slightly more sophisticated shade of orange. Good to note! ~Sean

    Reply
  • 5. megan  |  March 2, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    love love love the fabric and color choice, beautiful! visiting from BA!

    Reply
  • 6. gadgetronica  |  March 2, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    Thank you Megan! It’s great to get some feedback. Check out our other Before-Afters by clicking that link under “Categories on the right to see more cool transformations by me and Beth!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


receive new posts by email

Join 8 other subscribers

Recent Posts

NOTE: REFINISHING TIPS appear in a different color text in posts.

Thank you “Better After Blog” for featuring us!

Featured On Better After Blog

Beth's Flickr Photos

Visitors Map

Visitor Counter


Free counters provided by Vendio.