Q Project: mid-century modern recliner

June 30, 2010 at 12:49 am 3 comments

Last summer my sister was kind enough to give me one of her unused mid-century modern recliner chairs.  I loved the simple lines of the chair but couldn’t move past the black painted frame.  One afternoon while my dh took the kids out for a treat at The Frontier Mart in Corrales, I decided to grab my nifty palm sander and gave this classic chair a much-needed face-lift.  My intuition told me that once the paint was removed I would expose a beautiful wood.  Come to find out, I was right!

Initially, I was thinking of reupholstering the chair with a funky fabric pattern similar to the re-upholstered Milo Baughman chair posted in Apartment Therapy.    What do you think?

~Beth

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Entry filed under: Before & After, Beth's Projects. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Q Project: desk “Polka Dot” dresser revamp

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gadgetronica  |  June 30, 2010 at 6:22 am

    What a score from your sister! She must really love you. Did you mention she has a matching ottoman or a second chair?! I’m so glad you chose to restore it back to the wood. I’m reupholstering a chair now and would just say this: I consider myself fairly skilled and crafty, but despite the fact that I have recovered dozens of chairs, it always looks like an unprofessional job, especially if sewing is involved. I’m glad to dabble with upholstery on $2 yard sale no-name pieces. But, I would recommend a collectible like this should be given the royal treatment if you’re going to recover and pay an expert. My 2¢. Besides, the neutral fabric will grow and change with you. However, you did a loving job on the wood finish!

    Reply
  • 2. carol  |  July 6, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Have you discovered who the designer of this piece is?

    Reply
    • 3. haru  |  July 7, 2010 at 3:38 am

      Hi Carol. Thanks for leaving a comment. I believe this is a 1950’s original, designed by Milo Baughman for Thayer Coggin.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


receive new posts by email

Join 8 other followers

Recent Posts

NOTE: REFINISHING TIPS appear in a different color text in posts.

Thank you “Better After Blog” for featuring us!

Featured On Better After Blog

Beth's Flickr Photos

Visitors Map

Visitor Counter


Free counters provided by Vendio.

