who says vanity is a bad thing?!

July 4, 2010 at 6:03 am 4 comments

Vanity Before

$3 is cheap for the cost of beauty.

I couldn’t help but take pity on this legless vanity offered up at a yard sale for a mere $5.  It is not anything special–not vintage, antique or beautiful, partly pressboard.  But, I thought, if I don’t adopt it, no one else will.  Just to try to leave a little to fate, I offered them $3 and they accepted.  I’m making it my personal mission to somehow modernize this ho-hum piece.  Here are some thoughts:  First, select a zingy color like avocado or electric yellow.  I’m thinking about stencil etching a quote in a modern sans serif font to frame the mirror.  I’d also like to decoupage some of your beautiful inspiring papers on it somewhere–the top or wrapping the curvy sides?  It would be a great excuse to visit your paper store (what was the name of it?)!  I also like the idea of creating some sort of art collage, like covering it in pictures of other vanities, or vain women LOL, or some theme, like Alice in Wonderland.  Or, maybe I should just push it all the way over to an art piece and really give this little lady some legs to stand on!  I might end up replacing the legs if something comes up somewhere.  I’m open to suggestions from visitors, as long as suggestions don’t include making it pink with a princess theme.  I guess I really want something that’s going to move against it’s naturally frilly tendency.  What do you think?

Entry filed under: Inspiration, Sean's Projects. Tags: , , , , , , , .

the needle is on the record “the guide to living with style”

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. haru  |  July 4, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    Here’s the color:
    Retro Avocado
    Behr UL200-20

    The name of the store is Papers.
    It’s on Amherst Dr., south of Central in the Nob Hill Shopping Center. When you get back from DC we must plan a visit. I’m interested in your etched glass idea too.

    Reply
  • 2. Donna Anderson  |  July 6, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    OMG. Just to live in your creative brain for just a moment! What fun that would be. Wow. All great ideas. Art piece for a salon? Have loads of fun with this. And I must see the end result.

    Reply
  • 3. Sean  |  July 16, 2010 at 6:28 am

    I finally committed to a color on it. I’ve got a vision of what to do with it. It was so satisfying to put that coat of color over the white primer. Hope to work on it over the next week and post results soon…

    Reply
  • 4. Red Chinese Phoenix Vanity « Q Projects  |  September 22, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    […] This article is a continuation of the article “who says vanity is a bad thing?!“ […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


receive new posts by email

Join 8 other followers

Recent Posts

NOTE: REFINISHING TIPS appear in a different color text in posts.

Thank you “Better After Blog” for featuring us!

Featured On Better After Blog

Beth's Flickr Photos

Visitors Map

Visitor Counter


Free counters provided by Vendio.

