Papers!

August 6, 2010 at 2:02 am 3 comments

image of origami chandelierI finally got around to visiting the paper store you recommended. It was heavenly. Delicate hand screened printed sheets hung neatly from the wall. Prices ranged from a couple of dollars to $25+. Lots of inspiring crafted paper products and accessories drew me through the store. I lingered on the sealing waxes and seals plated in gold and silver glistening like pirate’s treasure. I basked in the soft pastels of the ceiling covered in various delicate tissue paper items. I was mesmerized by the giant cascading origami chandelier.  But I was on a mission.

image of paper umbrellas and lanterns hanging from the ceilingI was looking for some red and black paper to finish a hush hush project. I was hoping to be overwhelmed by options, but there were really only two. I walked away with a beautiful red textured tissue paper with black Kanji scrawled across it creating a wonderful graphic pattern. I’ll be using it as a decoupage accent on a furniture piece. I’ll take step by step photos, so I hope I don’t mess this one up! More photos of paper store to follow when I’m not on the road!

Sean Wells via iPhone

Entry filed under: Inspiration. Tags: , , , , , , .

St Anthony helps me find my art ghost lamp project

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. haru  |  August 6, 2010 at 3:40 am

    Did I tell you how much I LOVE this store? I’m glad that you found some paper for you vanity project. Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

    Reply
  • 2. TMY  |  August 6, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Beautifully composed. Your words made me want to jump in my car and drive to the paper store.

    Reply
  • 3. Red Chinese Phoenix Vanity « Q Projects  |  July 16, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    […]  This part was so fun.  After the top was complete, I went to the paper store (see article “Papers!“) you recommended to find a red a black paper.  I found a very inexpensive toothy tissue […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


receive new posts by email

Join 8 other followers

Recent Posts

NOTE: REFINISHING TIPS appear in a different color text in posts.

Thank you “Better After Blog” for featuring us!

Featured On Better After Blog

Beth's Flickr Photos

More Photos

Visitors Map

Visitor Counter


Free counters provided by Vendio.

