simple paintbox of spicy colors

August 22, 2010 at 7:06 am 2 comments

image of colorful jars of clayI’ve been collecting local clays and minerals to continue my natural pigment retablo training.  I wanted to keep them in something I could take with me to craft shows to display the pigments.  I had some canning jars around from preserving various garden items and thought they would make perfect storage containers for the bulk of the clays.  But, I wanted something a bit more apothecary feeling for my everyday display jars.  I found a dated set of 1970 spice jars (still containing original herbs) at an estate sale for $1 that I thought were ideal.  I cleaned and filled them and used my label maker to give them delicious sounding names like chocolate, ginger and chile rojo and cumin.

image of the spice rack and tool boxI was just going to trash the ugly wooden holder until I realized it was the exact size of of my tool carrier.  I painted it white and mounted it together using some mending plates.  There was a perfect slot between the two to allow for my brushes to slip in.  I just love how it came out and it makes me want to leave the set out in plain view, encouraging me to paint.  I’ll be looking for another set of these spice racks for the other side of the tool box, mainly to adjust the weight!  I’m looking forward to displaying my setup at my first show!

Oh, I FINALLY finished and photographed the legless vanity!  Too late to post tonight, but it will be a series of how-to posts.  I can hardly wait for the big reveal…stay tuned.

tool chest in action

Entry filed under: Before & After, Sean's Projects. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

ghost lamp project Awesome Flotsam & Jetsam Art

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna Anderson  |  August 22, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    Sean, Your creative self is constantly on the go. Love seeing your ideas completed and so useful. Beautiful work, wonderful idea. Wish I could do as much with my ideas. They usually just float briefly to the surface and sink before I do the job. Good for you.

    Reply
  • 2. Lori  |  January 27, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    lol, I just found the exact same style of spice jars and the same rack at a thrift store…I have eighteen bottles, but want another full rack just like it for all of my spice collection! What a great idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


receive new posts by email

Join 8 other followers

Recent Posts

NOTE: REFINISHING TIPS appear in a different color text in posts.

Thank you “Better After Blog” for featuring us!

Featured On Better After Blog

Beth's Flickr Photos

Visitors Map

Visitor Counter


Free counters provided by Vendio.

